Hewitt Memorial League Cup 2023/24 – Match Report

The second of two finals in a matter of weeks between Wormingford Newtown V Old Saints United was being played in The Hewitt Memorial League Cup once again at Holland FC, with Wormingford Newtown looking to add to last week’s cup win and Old Saints United looking for revenge following their previous defeat.

The game started with Old Saints United looking the more threatening with a goal being ruled out for offside within the first few minutes of the game, before Scott Birkett of Old Saints United was shown the first yellow card of the day shortly after for preventing a Wormingford Newtown counter-attack.

Wormingford Newtown grew into the game as the half progressed and took an early lead with Kieron Baker shrugging off his man in the box to finish calmly and make it Wormingford Newtown 1-0 Old Saints United.

Old Saints United looked to respond to this goal, however were unable to create any clear cut chances, and this was punished by Wormingford Newtown who extended their lead on the half hour mark as a corner played into the Old Saints United box was not cleared and after some pinball, Michael Sutton was there to slam home making it Wormingford 2-0 Old Saints United.

It would only be a matter of minutes before the confidence Wormingford Newtown were playing with would see them extend their lead, as Quentin Daly stood up his man on the edge of the box and unleashed a shot on his left foot to give the ‘keeper no chance to extend the lead. Wormingford Newtown 3-0 Old Saints United.

Once again, Wormingford Newtown came straight back at Old Saints United from the re-start, extending their lead further with a cross from Quentin Daly met by the head of Reece Keating who diverted past the ‘keeper to make it Wormingford Newtown 4-0 Old Saints United.

Old Saints United were relieved to hear the half time whistle after this, to try and re-group.

Half Time: Wormingford Newtown 40 Old Saints United

Within five minutes of the re-start, Old Saints United were able to get themselves back in the game as they won a free kick which was whipped in to the box and gave a Wormingford Newtown defender no choice but to deflect his header into his own net to make it Wormingford Newtown 4-1 Old Saints United.

A ten minute spell with no goals followed, which Old Saints United would have been happy with as they continued to try and get back in to the game further, however it would be Wormingford Newtown who would find the next goal, as a miskick from the Old Saints United ‘keeper allowed Blake Keogh-Kedar to capitalise and make it Wormingford Newtown 5-1 Old Saints United.

This was followed by another Wormingford Newtown goal minutes later, as Kieron Baker found himself with room in the box to take a touch and finish for his second of the game and Wormingford Newtown’s 6th. Wormingford Newtown 6-1 Old Saints United.

It was to get worse for Old Saints United as five minutes later they conceded a penalty which Blake Keogh-Kedar stepped up to confidently convert making it Wormingford Newtown 7-1 Old Saints United, followed by a curling effort from Brian Mdaka outside the box for Wormingford Newtown 8-1 Old Saints United and then another from Brian Mdaka straight after for Wormingford Newtown 9-1 Old Saints United.

Not content with that, Wormingford Newtown created another opportunity which allowed Blake Keogh-Kedar to finish for his hat-trick and Wormingford Newtown 10-1 Old Saints United.

Credit must go to Old Saints United though as they continued to try and compete and did get a second goal for their efforts as a ball in from Dan Rampton was finished by Chris Stratton, however the sound of the final whistle seconds later would have been a welcome one for Old Saints United despite their efforts as they were beaten by the better team.

Full Time: Wormingford Newtown 10-2 Old Saints United

Thank you to our Match Officials; Referee: Mark Jones, Assistant Referees: Matthew Hills & Simon Lyons and Fourth Official: Kelvin Llewellyn

The League selected the man of the match as Rocha Fosker of Wormingford Newtown.

The League once again would like to extend its thanks to Holland FC for hosting this final on its behalf.

Match Officials : Referee Mark Jones
Assistant Referees : Matthew Hills & Simon Lyons
Fourth Official : Kelvin Llewellyn
Man Of The Match : Wormingford Newtown’s Rocha Fosker
Runners Up : Old Saints Utd.
Wormingford Newtown : Winners of the 2023/24 Hewitt Memorial League Cup